Grunge trio Black Monsoon returns with growling single Broken

Dutch grunge trio Black Monsoon release their new single Broken on 19 April 2024. It is the starter of a series of new songs the band recorded since the release of their debut album Pantomime in 2020. The song is the band’s growling expression of being upset by the currently growing social and political polarisation as well as recently experienced  personal heartbreaks.

With these new recordings, the band is still going against the grain, rebelling against conservative standards of male-dominance and the boredom of dogmatic cultural restrictions dictated by the masses. The band’s DIY attitude is reflected by the music video for Broken being shot and edited by Jacky (guitar, vocals), Teun (guitar, vocals) and Marjolijn (drums, vocals) themselves.

After experimenting with new tunes on stage during live shows in Germany, The Netherlands and London (UK), the band recorded the series of songs at the Sahara Sound Studio in The Hague, The Netherlands. The songs were recorded by Michiel Siebelink and Henk Koorn (Hallo Venray). The sound of the new recordings strongly reminds of the alternative nineties-loaded vibes for which the band had received enthusiastic response by (underground) media across Europe stating references to a roaring blend of The Stooges, Sonic Youth and Nirvana. Yet, by the use of additional guitar amps as well as experimentation and production, the sound has evolved to what can now be recognised on Broken.